A to Z Campus Map Directory
Athens State Logo
Current Students Faculty & Staff Tuition & Payments News Events Giving Human Resources Bookstore
Untitled Document

Calendar of Events

Current News Stories

Archived News Stories

Directory Search

Current News

Education Honor Society Hosts Spring Initiation

May 7, 2013

Athens, ALA. - The Rho Gamma Chapter of Kappa Delta Pi at Athens State University initiated thirty new members at a ceremony held in the Banquet Room of Sandridge Center on April 29, 2013. Mrs. Bonnie Heatherly, Chapter Counselor, and Dr. Andryna Kuzmicic spoke to the initiates offering words of challenge and congratulations.

The Society inducts only those individuals who have exhibited the ideals of scholarship, integrity in service, and commitment to excellence in teaching and its allied professions. Selection as a member of Kappa Delta Pi is based on high academic achievement, a commitment to education as a career, and a professional attitude that assures steady growth in the profession.

Founded in 1911 at the University of Illinois, Kappa Delta Pi is the largest honor society in education, representing 600 undergraduate and professional chapters and more than 45,000 active members. Its most distinguished members over the last century have included Margaret Mead, Albert Einstein, George Washington Carver, and current leaders in education Howard Gardner, Maxine Greene, and Carol Gilligan.

The new members are: Joan Regina Aaron, Desiree Bartlett, Emily Brandon Berryhill, Shena Loosier Campbell, Christyn Hollie Chambless, Rebecca Clure, Maria Lofgren Coble, Mary Darlene Couch, Tijuana L. Crenshaw, Magan Alaine Glidewell, Amy Rooker Guin, Anna Beth Hall, Rebecca Deanna Harper, Stephanie Abigail Harris, Theresa Haverkamp, Jessica Kathryn Henderson, Constance Henley, Brooke Johnson, Keisha Brooke Malin, Elizabeth Ann Miller, Laura M. Nichols, Lillie Mae Parker, Tashia Michelle Phillips, Paige Spiller Riggs, Kiya Marie Roop, Taylor Laurence Ruff, Michelle Rushing, Kiley Godwin Soule, Whitney Sutherland, and Lindsey Danielle Washburn.

Following the ceremony, a reception for new members and their guests was held in the Annex.


Untitled Document

300 N. Beaty Street, Athens, AL 35611
Phone: (256) 233-8100

Stay Connected My.Athens.edu Athens State Online facebook Linked In
Google + you tube
Non-Discrimination Policy | Right to Know | Map/Directions | Contact Us
Web Privacy Statement | Copyright © 2014 Athens State University