The 25th Annual Athens State University Alumni Golf Classic was held on May 12, 2016. JJ and Dottie Donahue established the tournament in 1991 to benefit scholarships at the University through the Alumni Association. Walt Merritt joined as the committee chair a few years later and attended every year until his passing in January 2015.

This event is now the Alumni Association’s largest scholarship fundraiser under the leadership of Donna Hood and Mark McCarter. Proceeds are disbursed each academic year and have increased from $6,000 annually to more than $20,000. The JJ and Dottie Donahue Golf Scholarship and the Walt Merritt Memorial Golf Scholarship were named in 2015.

The scholarship recipients for 2015-2016 are Shelley Bess, Kat Blaylock, Kelsey Cooper, Taylor Edwards, Marthaluz Espinoza, Jessica Halcomb, Jarrod Hardy, Megan Love, Stiliyana Ruseva and Emily Zahnd. The scholarship recipients work alumni events throughout the year and volunteer at the Golf Classic.

Our May 12, 2016 winners were:

Championship Flight

1st Place- John St. Amant, Jason Murphree and Phil McCrory
2nd Place- Caleb Pirtle, Bill Graham, Armand Hunt and Brandon Holt
3rd Place- Tracy Ingle, Sean Coleman, Charlie Vines and Alex Mahlik

First Flight

1st Place- Jason Smith, Cody Herring, Jesse Stoner and Anthony Lancaster
2nd Place- Larry Sharp, Bob Burton, Chuck Jobe, David Williams
3rd Place- Frederick Martin, Brian Moore, Jim Maynard and Martin Moore


Hole 8- Spain Reese

Closest to the Pin

Hole 3- Mark Jewell
Hole 8- Spain Reese
Hole 13- Kurt Leopard
Hole 17- Allen Brown

Longest Drive

Jason Murphree

The next Golf Classic will be Thursday, May 18th, 2017