Every student is concerned about college costs. Athens State is one of the “best buys” in Alabama and South Tennessee. Consider and compare!
By Alabama state law, the University makes available in-state tuition to all Alabama residents and students from Bedford, Franklin, Giles, Lawrence, Lincoln, Marshall, Maury, Moore, and Wayne counties in Southern Tennessee. All other students are subject to out-of-state tuition rates.
Tuition and Fees
|Tuition and Fees per Credit Hour||In-State||Out-of-State|
|Traditional Tuition – Undergraduate||$206.00||$412.00|
|Non-Traditional Tuition – Undergraduate||$246.00||$246.00|
|Traditional Tuition – Graduate||$289.00||$500.00|
|Non-Traditional Tuition – Graduate||$289.00||$289.00|
|Technology Fee (per credit hour)||$50.00||$50.00|
|Bond Surety Fee (per credit hour)||$1.00||$1.00|
Cost is per credit hour.
Course loads of 19+ hours in Fall/Spring and 15+ hours in Summer must be approved by the Office of the Provost.
The Traditional tuition rate applies to all courses taught on campus.
The Non-Traditional tuition rate applies to all courses taught 100% online or in a blended format as well as directed studies, internships, practicums, and work experience, regardless of the residency status of the student.
2020-21 Additional Fees
|Late Fee – Applied during late registration and to any unpaid account following tuition payment due date||$35.00|
|Lab Fee – Applied to courses with a lab fee designated||$53.00|
|Teaching Internship Fee||$180.00|
|Credential Fee – per course for specific graduate courses in College of Business||$100.00|
|Returned Check Fee||$35.00|
Auditing a Course – no grade given
1/2 of applicable tuition rate