Morgan-Chavers Appointed to NAEYC Commission

teacher with young students

Mr. Travis Morgan-Chavers, Instructor of Early Childhood Education within Athens State University’s College of Education, was recently invited to serve on the National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC) Commission on the Accreditation of Early Childhood Higher Education Programs.  

The principal function of the Commission is to exercise professional judgment in making accreditation decisions and setting policies and standards. The Commission also works with NAEYC staff to develop guidance documents and data gathering instruments necessary to carry out these functions. Commissioners bring a demonstrated commitment to the aims of early childhood teacher education at higher education institutions; an understanding of the nature of program accreditation systems, policy and procedures; and respect for the confidential, fair, and impartial nature of accreditation decisions. 

NAEYC is a professional membership organization that works to promote high-quality early learning for all young children, birth through age 8, by connecting early childhood practice, policy, and research. The organization advances a diverse, dynamic early childhood profession and supports all who care for, educate, and work on behalf of young children. The association comprises nearly 60,000 individual members of the early childhood community and 52 Affiliates, all committed to delivering on the promise of high-quality early learning.

We congratulate Travis on this accomplishment and know he will make great contributions to the Early Childhood Education profession. This is a notable position, and we are very proud for our University to be represented in this manner.

Dr. Johnnie Lundin, Department Chair for Early Childhood and Elementary Studies

Learn More about NAEYC

Travis Morgan-Chavers

Travis Morgan

Instructor of Early Childhood Education
Previous Post

Dr. Kandalec Holm Named Associate Editor for CTER

Faculty News / January 3, 2023
Next Post

Dr. Catherine Wehlburg Named Interim President

Board of Trustees / January 20, 2023