Board of Visitors

The Board of Visitors is a volunteer service organization of Athens State University.

The Board of Visitors exists both as a uniform entity for total university service and is also divided into three equal entities to serve each of the respective colleges of the University: College of Arts & Sciences; College of Business; and College of Education.

The Board of Visitors serves to assist the President and the Board of Trustees in promoting and advocating the overall quality and excellence of the University; to advise and assist the University in interpreting the vision, mission, programs, accomplishments, and aspirations of the University; to help keep the University and its constituent parts informed of attitudes, opinions, concerns, and expectations related to higher education in general and Athens State University specifically; and to advise and assist the University with respect to the advancement of the University in all aspects of its mission.

  • Russell Johnson
  • Kenneth Lones
  • Julia Roth
  • Dr. Eric Smith

  • Christie Blaylock
  • Stephen Carter
  • Mark Dunn
  • Scott Gaddis
  • Scott Henry
  • Pammie Jimmar

  • Toni Bailey – Athens City Schools
  • Dr. Donna Estill – Calhoun Community College
  • Dr. Yvette Evans – Decatur City Schools
  • Karl Fernandez – Principal, Rainbow Elementary School
  • Jake Johnson – Principal, Cullman Middle School
  • Dena Mayfield – Pre-K Principal, Hartselle City Schools
  • Patrick Patterson – Morgan County Schools
  • Dr. Jon Bret Smith – Lawrence County Schools
  • Dr. Richard Templeton – Supervisor of Student Services, Muscle Shoals City Schools
  • Dr. John Wilson – Limestone County Career Tech Center