Governing Board

2021-2022 Governing Board Members

As mandated by the State Legislature and the Alabama Department of Education, the Athens State University Regional In-Service Center (Athens State RIC) operates under the direction and authority of a Governing Board. According to the Bylaws of the Athens State RIC Governing Board, the board should include eight classroom teachers, four administrators, two Institution of Higher Education employees, one State Department of Education employee, and one school board member. Board members serve staggered three-year terms and are eligible for one re-appointed term.

Susan Hayes, Chair
Central Office
Hartselle City Schools

Patty Maze
Athens State RIC Director
Ex-Officio Member

Dr. Johnnie Lundin
College of Education
Athens State University

Jessica Spowart
College of Arts and Sciences
Athens State University

Shannon Hollingsworth
Susan Moore Elementary School
Blount County Schools

Daniel Weaver
Good Hope Elementary School
Cullman County Schools

Amy Williams
Central Office
Athens City Schools

Patti Terry
Speake Elementary
Lawrence County Schools
Emily Hines
West Elementary School
Cullman City Schools

Shane Carpenter
Clements High School
Limestone County Schools

Dr. Cherie Humphries
Central Office
Morgan County Schools

Jennifer Blevins
Austin Middle School
Decatur City Schools

Mallory Lamb
Oneonta Elementary
Oneonta City Schools

Tessa Filyaw
East Lawrence Elementary
Lawrence County Schools

James Lucas
School Board (Retired)
Athens City Schools

Rhett Cutts
State Department of Education